About the Artist

Knifemaking as a hobby / custom work.

 

Brome at stream

At this time I make knives only as a hobby.

I work full time pursuing one of my other passions in life, the natural world. My work as an Ecologist keeps me very busy during the summer as I am often off hiking somewhere in remote areas of the Pacific Northwest chasing critters for extended periods of time.

My wife, son and I spend time working on and around the house and the land we own.  We also enjoy traveling.

All these things have meant that, for the time being, I am only sharpening/repairing knives as they come in, and have put my handmade orders on hold. I seem to be more of a “knife tinkerer” these days.

But if you are interested, I would love to talk withyou about knifemaking, or anything else, for that matter. I enjoy questions so feel free to ask about anything you see (or don’t see) here. I don’t believe in knifemaking secrets. Someone was good enough to show or tell me, so I will do the same. Just don’t get cross if it takes me a few days to get back to you. Use the contact form to send me an email.

More about me

Myrtle Creek bridge

The abridged version of my life up to now goes something like this:

I was born at home in Berkeley, CA, but celebrated my first birthday in Oregon.

I grew up on a small 70 acre farm at the base of the Cascade Mountains in Myrtle Creek, OR where we grew much of what we ate, hand-milked cows, cooked and heated with wood, raised pigs, chickens, Brown Swiss cows, geese, an occasional duck and many mice and blacktail deer.

I spent a great deal of my time as a younger person exploring the natural world around me in the forests and streams where I lived.

I grew up without television, and still have not grown to appreciate it.

I was home-schooled until I entered public school in the latter half of the 5th Grade.

After graduating from high school I went on to get a degree in biology at Reed College in Portland, Oregon. After finishing my Thesis in Animal Behavior and Conservation Biology at Reed, my fiancée and I needed a break, so we had a public celebration of our union and joined the Northwest Service Academy (Americorps) and moved to Trout Lake, WA. We both had a wonderful time over the next two years, and learned a great deal, as well as feeling that we did something significant to help our country and world. We then moved back to Oregon. I pursued my “career” (I call it my life) as an Ecologist, and my wife obtained a license in Early Childhood Special Education, going on to teach for a local ESD.

We purchased a little bit of land with an older home on it near Albany, OR, and our son was born several years after that.

I can be obsessive/compulsive and opinionated at times.

I try to love life and enjoy the small and simple aspects of the universe and how I interact with it. That is not to say there are not days when I get frustrated with Life, The Universe, and Everything. But I do try and be optimistic and enjoy my time here without intentionally causing others undue pain or suffering, or being in a hurry to get to the end. So far, that approach seems to work for me. I am not perfect, and I hope I never am.

I have many other interests and pursuits. Some of these (at this time) include just about all aspects of natural history, ethnobotany, primitive living skills, nature photography, and discussing and implementing ideas and methods for increasing our positive impact on the world and people around us.